

BAILEY AWARD—Decatur B. Campbell Jr., president of the North Central Section, presents the medal to the 1961 winner, J.C. Cowan (*right*) of the Northern Regional Research Laboratory, Peoria, Ill.

Cowan Receives Bailey Medal

C LIMAXING the 1960-61 season, the Bailey award was given to J.C. Cowan of the Northern Regional Research Laboratory, Peoria, Ill., for his work in helping to make an edible oil out of soybean oil, at the March 29, 1961, meeting of the North Central Section of the Builders' club, Chicago, Ill.

the Builders' club, Chicago, Ill. Decatur B. Campbell Jr., president of the Section, presided and introduced the out-of-town guests, R.L. Edwards of Distillation Products Industries, Rochester, N.Y., and Ira A. McDonald of the Atlas Powder Company, Wilmington, Del. He then called for a moment of silence in memory of the late R.S. Stovall Jr., district chemist, for Wesson Division, Hunt Foods and Industries Inc., Chicago, who was murdered recently.

A.A. Rodeghier, chairman of the nominating and election committee, which included R.W. Bates and W.C. Pritchett, announced the slate as follows: Mr. Campbell for president, A.V. Graci Jr. for vice president, Stanley C. Miksta for secretary, and Lawton Gentry as treasurer.

Mr. Bates was asked by the presiding officer to introduce Dr. Cowan, and his comments are summarized below.

Had the good Lord made soybean oil a bit more saturated or a bit less saturated, it would have been a clear-cut paint oil or a clear-cut stable edible oil. Had he made soybeans harder to grow and harvest, we would not have had the problem. However had it not been for the soybean, many of us would probably not have been oil chemists.

I am one who feels very strongly that the flavor stability of soybean oil still exists as a technical problem; however I



OFFICERS—Together at the March 29 meeting of the North Central Section of the American Oil Chemists' Society are these: (seated) Cecelia Gilmore, outgoing secretary; Decatur B. Campbell Jr., re-elected president; A.V. Graci Jr., re-elected vice president; (standing) Lawton Gentry (left) and Stanley C. Miksta.



CONGRATULATIONS—J.C. Cowan, winner of the Bailey award in 1961, receives good wishes from R.W. Bates (*left*), president of the American Oil Chemists' Society, and A.A. Rodeghier (*center*), chairman of the Bailey Award Committee.

doubt if it is any longer an economic one. Most of our vegetable shortening and margarine today contains soybean oil as the major component. Our honored guest of the evening and his group at the Northern Regional Research Laboratory, beginning in 1946, made many major contributions to the production of an acceptable edible soya oil.

They studied flavor evaluation scientifically, and most or, at least, many of the oil flavor panels in use in industry today are patterned after their approach. They recognized that any sova oil will deteriorate in flavor but made intensive studies of the contributing flactors and the means of inhibiting flavor deterioration.

I first met our guest in 1946 in Peoria. Warren Goss, then with NRRL, had just returned from a technical inspection trip to Germany. While there, he had found that the Germans were producing a superior oil, and one of the apparent reasons was the ehelating of trace materials with eitric acid. Extensive test work eventually demonstrated that the addition of eitric acid did help to produce an oil of better initial flavor and better flavor stability. Citric acid is used widely in the industry today for this purpose. Other chelating agents were investigated, as were methods and conditions of refining and deodorization.

I am sure that many of us who associated with our guest and his group during the late 1940's profited greatly in observing their scientific approach to the problem. In all, 140 scientific papers have been published by our guest and co-workers. His fields of scientific interest have been primarily the flavor stability of soya oil and the polymerization of fatty materials.

The recipient of the A.E. Bailey award is a native of Illinois. He attended primary and secondary schools in Danville, Ill., and Denver, Colo. He was graduated from the University of Illinois in 1934 and received his doctorate from that institution in 1938. He taught chemistry at Illinois and De Pauw before joining NRRL in 1940. In 1948 he received the Superior Service award from the U.S. Department of Agriculture for research that led to the development of synthetic rubber from soybean oil.

Our guest is a member of the American Chemical Society, Soybean Research Council, and the National Soybean Processors Association. He has been a member of the American Oil Chemists' Society since 1941 and is currently chairman of the Education Committee. His hobbies are bird watching and square dance calling, which get him up early and keep him up late.

I am sure that if Ed Bailey were with us tonight, he would be most happy to see the 1961 award bearing his name given to John Cowan for his work on helping to make the soybean oil an economic success.

The Bailey Award was given for the first time in 1959, with V.C. Mehlenbacher of Swift and Company as the recipient. Last year the bronze medal was given to R.H. Potts of Armour and Company. The late Mr. Bailey was president of the Society in 1951, a contributor of numerous articles to the Journal, and the author of several books: "Melting and Solidification of Fats," "Cottonseed and Cottonseed Products," and "Industrial Oil and Fat Products." His widow and two young sons live in Memphis, Tenn.

The next meeting of the North Central Section will be May 24 at the Builders' club as the traditional Ladies' Night.